FAQ - Dangerous Goods

1. Training

The legal requirements of the International Civil Aviation Organization's Technical Instructions for the safe transport of dangerous goods by air requires that initial and recurrent in-depth training must be taken by shippers and their agents, packers, freight forwarders, cargo agents, operators (or airlines), agencies handling operators and performing the cargo acceptance function. (Part 1, Chapter 4.1).

Awareness level training is required for staff of operators and agencies acting on behalf of operators performing the functions of ground handling, storage and loading of cargo and baggage; passenger handling and security staff responsible for screening passengers and their baggage; flight crew members and flight attendants (Part 1, Chapter 4, 4.1 & 4.2.1).

A test to verify understanding must be undertaken following training.
(Part 1, Chapter 4, 4.2.4)

Dangerous Goods Training Certificates are issued with a validity period of 24 months. Recurrent training must take place within 24 months of the previous training to ensure that the knowledge is current. When the recurrent training is passed successfully the validity period is extended by another 24 months (§ 38 GGBV).

Dangerous Goods Training Providers must be approved via official notification by the Austrian Civil Aviation Authority Austro Control GmbH (§ 33 Abs. 2 GGBG). A list of all approved dangerous goods training providers can be found on our homepage (Training Providers).

According to § 38 Abs 2 GGBV a dangerous goods recurrent training must take place within 24 months starting from the issue date of the certificate. However, if the recurrent training is completed within the final 6 months of validity of previous training, the period of validity extends from the date on which the recurrent training was completed until 24 months from the expiry date of that previous training. In this special case Austrian national law is less restrictive than the international requirements are. According to ICAO Technical Instructions recurrent training needs to be completed within the final 3 months of validity of previous training (Part 1, Chapter 4, 4.2.3)

2. Classification

Dangerous Goods are defined as those goods which meet the criteria of one or more of nine UN hazard classes and, where applicable, to one of three UN Packing Groups. The nine classes relate to the type of hazard whereas the packing groups relate to the applicable degree of danger within the class.

Even Wastes must be transported under the requirements of the appropriate class considering their hazards and the criteria of the instructions. Wastes not otherwise subject to the instructions, but covered under the Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal, may be transported under Class 9.

Classification must be made by the appropriate national authority when so required or may otherwise be made by the shipper.

Detailed Classification Instructions can be found in Part 2 of the ICAO Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air as well as in Section 3 of the IATA DGR.

Unfortunately many MSDS do not provide accurate classification for transport purposes. You should further inquire with the manufacturer or distributor or have the product tested by an authorized laboratory.

Lithium ion batteries with a Watt-hour rating exceeding 100 Wh but not exceeding 160 Wh for consumer electronic devices may be carried in carry-on baggage or on one’s person. No more than two spare batteries may be carried in carry-on baggage only. These batteries must be individually protected to prevent short circuits. Equipment containing such batteries may be in checked or carry-on baggage. The approval of the operator(s) is required as well.

Lithium ion batteries with a Watt-hour rating below 100 Wh are not subject to approval by the operator(s).

ICAO Technical Instructions Part 8, Chapter 1, 1.1.2 q) as well as Table 2.3.A of the IATA DGR.

3. Documentation

4. Handling/Packing

Talk to the airline and try to get as much information as possible. Check the State and operator variations in the ICAO Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air, Chapter 1 and 2. As well shown in Section 2 of the IATA DGR. Have you observed all variations?

Is there any likelihood the shipment may have been damaged on its way to the airport? Damaged dangerous goods must not be accepted by an operator.

IATA Regulation:

Yes, disabling devices of any kind (e.g.: teargas, mace, pepper spray…) are forbidden in both carry-on and check-in baggage on airlines who are IATA members (IATA DGR Should you travel with a NON-IATA member (for example: small executive jet operator) there is no restriction for disabling devices in the ICAO Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air. However, be aware that often security requirements restrict these items.

Most normal toiletry items in reasonable quantities are acceptable and therefore allowed in carry-on and check-in baggage. (ICAO Technical Instructions Part 8, Chapter 1, 1.1.2 h) or IATA DGR

However, be aware that security requirements restrict liquids in carry-on baggage to those in containers of no more than 100 millilitres (3 fluid ounce). In addition the liquids must be packed in a clear Ziploc bag.  For special items please check with your airline when making your reservation.

5. Other

Appendix E of the IATA DGR contains a worldwide list of manufacturers and suppliers of UN specification packaging.

Below you can find the Austrian Packaging Testing Facility, which is authorised to grant approvals to use specification marking:

Österreichisches Institut für Verpackungswesen
Franz-Grill-Straße 5
A-1030 Vienna

No, the Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology, Department ST3 is responsible for Approvals and/or Exemptions.